Tuesday, April 13, 2010

QVC, Coca Cola, and Mad Dog 20/20

I am going to admit this - right here and right now - I am watching Ken Paves on QVC and he is hawking Hairdo by Ken Paves & Jessica Simpson. I have actually stopped writing my stranger blog to write this blog. Back to QVC and Ken........I was flipping through the channels trying to find something to watch and fascinated by short to long hair, no bangs to bangs and flat crowns to voluminous crowns. I am 39 minutes into it and I am still watching. I am digging the headband fall, but not loving the 10" Bump Up the Pony. This "hair"can be washed, curled, flat-ironed, hair sprayed....omg....I think I might be falling in love with synthetic hair.

Okay, so let's talk about fake hair for a minute.....it seems that we (society) are quick to accept that female celebrities (maybe even some males like Nicholas Cage and John Travolta) change their hairstyles for award shows, red carpet events, or roles and we even accept that normal (non-star) African-American or Black (your choice) women wear fake hair all the time. BUT put fake hair on a Caucasian or White (your choice) woman and all hell breaks loose.....like wearing white after Labor Day, like not removing your hat during the National Anthem, like a woman showing up at the Kentucky Derby without a hat, and like when Coca Cola changed its recipe a couple years back - yup - all major hell break loose moments. Why is that???? For the love of Pete, Kate Gosselin made the cover of People magazine when she got extensions...really?!?!? I know plenty women who would love to be able to grow out short without having to deal with it or have short hair one day and then the next have long hair without the worry of some back biting comment made by "friends or colleagues" in either the bathroom or break room.

I am seriously considering ordering the headband fall just to see what if it is as good as it looked in TV. I could be the poster child for everyday Caucasian or White (your choice) women to enter the fake hair arena. Hhhmmm....maybe one day it will be as common as Egg Nog at Christmas or Fireworks at the 4th of July or Mad Dog 20/20 with Tacos. Okay, maybe not the last one.....but you get what I am saying.

2 comments:

  1. Trust me, you'll be taunted mercilessly.

    ReplyDelete
  2. No you won't. Only your closest relatives and friends will be able to tell. Get it and let the rest of us know how you like it. I have VERY short spiky hair....I'd love to freak people out one morning with long hair!

    ReplyDelete