When you see a man in a trunk - you know there is a story, but more about that in a few minutes. The forecast for today was suppose to be showers all day (I think it rained for maybe 30 minutes) so Gray and I decided that we would go out early this morning - we needed to buy a birthday present for Gray to take to Abbey's birthday party. After I suggested a purse, a shirt or two, and lounge wear; we decided on a body pillow with a zebra cover. We also bought a cool picture frame for her. So with a body pillow the size of Gray, picture frame and giant gift bag - we head to the checkout. The clerk asked me about the weather and I told her that I parked close and hoped that the rain shower had passed over. She bagged our items; I extended my hand and gave her my spiel, "Hi, my name is Donna...." and soon enough I was shaking hands with Linda. Blond with glasses, Linda was very friendly and perky. And I think if I would have asked her if she liked her job - I do believe she would have said yes and I would have believed her. I had noticed the lady behind us in line - the size of her groceries caught my eyes. Very small bag of new potatoes, a small amount of what looked to be thinly sliced prosciutto, small package of imported country cheese. I immediately thought of my European friends who go to the market daily to purchase only what they need for that day. I knew had to meet her. So when I finished with Linda, I turned and extended my hand to the woman behind me. She had heard my talking to Linda and when I went to shake her hand she told me her name, "Grudwein." Her accent was heavier than I guess I had anticipated so I repeated what I thought I heard, "Grudwein?" "No," she said. And again she repeated it, "Gudrun. Like good and run. Gudrun." "Gudrun, it is nice to meet you." I ask, "Is the accent Eastern European?" "No, German near Holland." I nod in agreement, but I know as soon as I get home that I need to look a map. I again tell her that I was glad to have met her and she says, "Tell me your name again - I want to tell my friend about you." "Donna and this is my daughter Grayson," I said. The other people in line were either put out that I was holding up the line or that I wasn't taking the time to meet them as well. So I wished Linda and Gudrun a good day and good bye.
Lucky for us - no rain when we left the store, but as we got to our car I think that I see a girl talking to a man in the trunk of a car. We load the bags into the back seat of the car and I tell Gray, "There is a story there...I should go meet the man in the trunk." And being the good sport that she is she says, "Oh yeah, let's go do it." Well that is all the prompting that I need. And sure enough as we get closer - there is a guy (looks to be about high school age) laying in the trunk of the car and the girl (also probably in high school) is talking to him. She looks at me and he looks up at me and all I can say is, "There has to be a story here. Can I ask why are you in the trunk?" He says, "I just wanted to be in the trunk." "Did you ride over here in the trunk?" I asked. He laughed and said "No" like I was an idiot to suggest something so bizarre. And I thought to myself, I am talking to a dude in a trunk and he thinks I am the oddball?!?!? He continued with, "I wanted to get in the trunk and see if she would close it." At this point I decided that I should introduce myself, "Hi my name is Donna..." I turned and shook hands with Megan and then I shook hands with Neal who was still in the trunk. So I turn back to Megan and ask her, "Why didn't you close the trunk?" She said, "I was afraid that he wouldn't be able to get out." Huh? And this is when Neal piped up and said, "Well, I do have the keys in my hand." Hhhmmm....okay.....that might have bothered me a little bit too. And with Neal making no movements to get out of the trunk, Gray and I tell them good bye and I wished them a good day. As Gray and I got into the car, she turned to me and said, "That was weird." I agreed.
And as we drove away, I looked in my rear view mirror and noticed that the trunk was closed. Is that what they mean by junk in the trunk????
No comments:
Post a Comment