Today is Day 3 and I have never used so much peppermint at one time in my entire life. Wait, I probably need to clarify - excluding peppermint schnapps that was taken with regularity when in college while I worked at Bushwackers. The recipe today - very easy - the longest wait was letting the dough chill which the recipe indicated would be 30-60 minutes. It was closer to 60, but no worries. I enjoyed a nice cup of hazelnut coffee.
I do have a beef about this recipe...well...in general most recipes. Do you ever notice the recipe never seems to make the amount indicated. For instance, today's recipe indicated it should yield 4 dozen. Now to confirm, I did not roll large or even medium sized balls (no jokes) and my recipe only made 3 dozen. I think for this to make 4 dozen cookies, I would have had to have rolled them about the size of mouse turds...I am just thinking. Does this happen to anyone else????
So the dough was chilled, balls were rolled and into the oven for 15 minutes on 350 until slightly brown on the edges. On to the glaze......powder sugar - check; 2 tablespoons of milk - check; 2 tablespoons of butter - check; 2 drops of red food coloring - check; crushed peppermints - WHAT...no....crap.....and the crushed peppermints have to be added while the glaze is wet......did I mention crap?!?!?! Off to Wal-Mart to purchase candy canes.
1 box of candy canes..88 cents. What a bargain. I head to the check-out and the chick with her little blue bow in her hair asks me, "Have you been cooking?" Had Wal-Mart started hiring clairvoyants???? I nodded and thought - Hhhmmm - is this the Wal-Mart question of the day to its customers? Are there questions of the day???? Didn't really think anymore of if. Paid and back to my car.....I had glaze to make. Car on; seat belt on; visor down to block out the sun and it became apparent to me why the baking question was posed to me. I had powdered sugar smeared across my forehead as if I was on my way to a some tribal ritual that involved dancing around fire and making weird noises. Oh lord......they are probably still talking about me, but what is a girl to do when she is on a mission for peppermint sticks?!?!?!?!
Glaze made; candy canes pounded....let me interject here.....when pounding candy canes - cover the candy canes with a towel before beating the crap put of them with a meat mallet. Because those candy canes shards will fly all over your dang kitchen - a mess to clean up, but your dog will love you. Glaze was drizzled with more finesse today than yesterday and crushed candy canes added to the top.
The cookies turned out great; however, there is only one thing that still has me worried.....since Tim (our dog) ate some of the peppermint shards that went flying through the kitchen.....will his dog farts smell like peppermints????? Just a point ponder.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
She said "balls" - huhu, huhu. Your hypothesis regarding canines and hard peppermint candies has been disproven, several times.
ReplyDelete